Numerous municipalities across Canada have decided to cancel Canada Day in 2021. The movement to ditch celebrating Canada’s birthday has taken hold since the Tk̓emlúps te Secwépemc First Nations and Cowessess First Nation announced two alleged burial sites located near former residential schools in British Columbia and Saskatchewan, respectively.

Spurred on by activists and far-left groups, 20 cities and towns, spanning five provinces and territories, have either fully canceled the holiday or substantially altered their Canada Day plans for this year. The municipalities are in British Columbia, Alberta, New Brunswick, Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

Check out True North’s interactive timeline below to explore every community that has decided to give in to the demands to cancel Canada Day. 

2021 has been True North’s best year yet. Thanks to supporters like you, we had our best online fundraising month yet in August!

Now, we want to finish 2021 on the strongest note possible. Help us have our best fundraising month ever - donate today!