The Manitoba New Democratic Party (NDP) has secured a majority government after seven years of Progressive Conservative rule.

The NDP, led by Wab Kinew, achieved an overwhelming victory in Tuesday’s election, capturing a majority of the legislative seats.

Kinew will be the next premier of Manitoba, replacing Progressive Conservative Party of Manitoba leader Heather Stefanson. 

Stefanson became premier in 2021 after winning the PC leadership following Brian Pallister’s retirement.

The PCs lost a substantial number of seats on Tuesday after a bitter campaign between them and the NDP which sometimes referenced Kinew’s troubled past, including convictions related to alcohol and domestic violence.

The PCs will become the province’s Official Opposition.

Stefanson was narrowly leading in her riding of Tuxedo as of 10:30pm CT Tuesday.

In the lead-up to the election, the NDP concentrated its campaign on issues like healthcare, education and climate change.

Advance polls ahead of election night saw record turnouts as Manitobans prepared to elect a new premier. 

The Liberals under leader Dougald Lamont went from three seats to just one, with Lamont losing his own seat to the NDP. Lamont resigned as Liberal leader.